Search

Chapter 20. Internationalization

download PDF

20.1. Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 International Languages

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 supports the installation of multiple languages and the changing of languages based on your requirements.
The following languages are supported in Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7:
  • East Asian Languages - Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese, and Traditional Chinese;
  • European Languages - English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese Brazilian, and Russian.
  • Indic Languages - Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, and Telugu.
The table below summarizes the currently supported languages, their locales, default fonts installed, and packages required for some of the supported languages.
For more information on font configuration, see Desktop Migration and Administration Guide.
Table 20.1. Language Support Matrix
Territory Language Locale Default Font (Font Package) Input Methods
Brazil Portuguese pt_BR.UTF-8 DejaVu Sans (dejavu-sans-fonts)
France French fr_FR.UTF-8 DejaVu Sans (dejavu-sans-fonts)
Germany German de_DE.UTF-8 DejaVu Sans (dejavu-sans-fonts)
Italy Italian it_IT.UTF-8 DejaVu Sans (dejavu-sans-fonts)
Russia Russian ru_RU.UTF-8 DejaVu Sans (dejavu-sans-fonts)  
Spain Spanish es_ES.UTF-8 DejaVu Sans (dejavu-sans-fonts)
USA English en_US.UTF-8 DejaVu Sans (dejavu-sans-fonts)
China Simplified Chinese zh_CN.UTF-8 WenQuanYi Zen Hei Sharp (wqy-zenhei-fonts) ibus-libpinyin, ibus-table-chinese
Japan Japanese ja_JP.UTF-8 VL PGothic (vlgothic-p-fonts) ibus-kkc
Korea Korean ko_KR.UTF-8 NanumGothic (nhn-nanum-gothic-fonts) ibus-hangul
Taiwan Traditional Chinese zh_TW.UTF-8 AR PL UMing TW (cjkuni-uming-fonts) ibus-chewing, ibus-table-chinese
India Assamese as_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Assamese (lohit-assamese-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Bengali bn_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Bengali (lohit-bengali-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Gujarati gu_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Gujarati (lohit-gujarati-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Hindi hi_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Hindi (lohit-devanagari-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Kannada kn_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Kannada (lohit-kannada-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Malayalam ml_IN.UTF-8 Meera (smc-meera-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Marathi mr_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Marathi (lohit-marathi-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Odia or_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Oriya (lohit-oriya-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Punjabi pa_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Punjabi (lohit-punjabi-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Tamil ta_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Tamil (lohit-tamil-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Telugu te_IN.UTF-8 Lohit Telugu (lohit-telugu-fonts) ibus-m17n, m17n-db, m17n-contrib
Red Hat logoGithubRedditYoutubeTwitter

Learn

Try, buy, & sell

Communities

About Red Hat Documentation

We help Red Hat users innovate and achieve their goals with our products and services with content they can trust.

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. For more details, see the Red Hat Blog.

About Red Hat

We deliver hardened solutions that make it easier for enterprises to work across platforms and environments, from the core datacenter to the network edge.

© 2024 Red Hat, Inc.