1.2. A Review of Certificate System Subsystems

download PDF
Red Hat Certificate System provides five different subsystems, each focusing on different aspects of a PKI deployment. These subsystems work together to create a public key infrastructure (PKI). Depending on what subsystems are installed, a PKI can function as a token management system (TMS) or a non token management system. For descriptions of the subsystems and TMS and non-TMS environments, see the A Review of Certificate System Subsystems section in the Red Hat Certificate System Planning, Installation, and Deployment Guide.

Enterprise Security Client

The Enterprise Security Client is not a subsystem since it does not perform any operations with certificates, keys, or tokens. The Enterprise Security Client is a user interface which allows people to manage certificates on smart cards very easily. The Enterprise Security Client sends all token operations, such as certificate requests, to the token processing system (TPS), which then sends them to the certificate authority (CA). For more information, see For more information, see Red Hat Certificate System 9 Managing Smart Cards with the Enterprise Security Client.
Red Hat logoGithubRedditYoutubeTwitter


Try, buy, & sell


About Red Hat Documentation

We help Red Hat users innovate and achieve their goals with our products and services with content they can trust.

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. For more details, see the Red Hat Blog.

About Red Hat

We deliver hardened solutions that make it easier for enterprises to work across platforms and environments, from the core datacenter to the network edge.

© 2024 Red Hat, Inc.