1.6. Data Centers

download PDF

A data center is the highest level of abstraction in Red Hat Virtualization. A data center contains three types of information:

This includes storage types, storage domains, and connectivity information for storage domains. Storage is defined for a data center, and available to all clusters in the data center. All host clusters within a data center have access to the same storage domains.
Logical networks
This includes details such as network addresses, VLAN tags and STP support. You can define logical networks for a data center and apply them to clusters.
Clusters are groups of hosts with compatible processor cores, either AMD or Intel processors. Clusters are migration domains; virtual machines can be live-migrated to any host within a cluster, and not to other clusters. One data center can hold multiple clusters, and each cluster can contain multiple hosts.
Red Hat logoGithubRedditYoutubeTwitter


Try, buy, & sell


About Red Hat Documentation

We help Red Hat users innovate and achieve their goals with our products and services with content they can trust.

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. For more details, see the Red Hat Blog.

About Red Hat

We deliver hardened solutions that make it easier for enterprises to work across platforms and environments, from the core datacenter to the network edge.

© 2024 Red Hat, Inc.