Chapter 6. Secure the Management Interfaces with Role-Based Access Control

download PDF

6.1. About Role-Based Access Control (RBAC)

Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) is a mechanism for specifying a set of permissions for management users. It allows multiple users to share responsibility for managing JBoss EAP 6.3 servers without each of them requiring unrestricted access. By providing "separation of duties" for management users, JBoss EAP 6.3 makes it easy for an organization to spread responsibility between individuals or groups without granting unnecessary privileges. This ensures the maximum possible security of your servers and data while still providing flexibility for configuration, deployment, and management.

Role-Based Access Control in JBoss EAP 6.3 works through a combination of role permissions and constraints.

Seven predefined roles are provided that each have different fixed permissions. The predefined roles are: Monitor, Operator, Maintainer, Deployer, Auditor, Administrator, and SuperUser. Each management user is assigned one or more roles, which specify what the user is permitted to do when managing the server.
Red Hat logoGithubRedditYoutubeTwitter


Try, buy, & sell


About Red Hat Documentation

We help Red Hat users innovate and achieve their goals with our products and services with content they can trust.

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. For more details, see the Red Hat Blog.

About Red Hat

We deliver hardened solutions that make it easier for enterprises to work across platforms and environments, from the core datacenter to the network edge.

© 2024 Red Hat, Inc.